Dirty Projectors' Nat Baldwin to release solo album!

[soundcloud url=”https://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/133378097″ params=”auto_play=false&hide_related=false&visual=true” width=”100%” height=”450″ iframe=”true” /]

Despite his busy schedule recording and touring as the bass player for Dirty Projectors, Nat Baldwin found time to write and record his most soulful and ambitious collection of songs to date.

In the Hollows will be released on 5th May via Western Vinyl.

After recording the initial tracks at Machines With Magnets in Pawtucket, RI, Nat recruited Otto Hauser (Vetiver, Lia Ices, Espers) for drums and percussion and Rob Moose (The National, Antony and the Johnsons, Bon Iver) and Clarice Jensen for string arrangements.  Discussing the album’s production, Nat says “I wanted to achieve a consistency throughout that my past albums have lacked.  I wanted the strings to add to the mournful quality of the songs, weaving their way through the sonic terrain, providing emotional emphasis, but also leaving necessary amounts of space.  Albums by Nick Drake, Judee Sill, Joanna Newsom, Antony & the Johnsons, and Bill Callahan, to name a few, provided inspiration in balancing that intimacy with minimal, but powerful, adornments.”

Immersive, athletic, and often profound, In the Hollows represents his clearest and most consistent album-length statement, melodically, structurally, and lyrically.  Nat explains that “I hope it is as unsettling as it is beautiful.  I want it to make people feel things they can’t describe.”

Next Post
Previous Post
About Hannah