Quivers announnce new album ‘Oyster Cuts’ out 9th August on Merge Records

Oyster Cuts is sunshine pop with blood in the water. The losses and loves that have informed Quivers’ music since their inception – the sudden loss of a brother in the cracked optimism of We’ll Go Riding on the Hearses (2018) and the life in and after grief of Golden Doubt (2021) – ripple into Oyster Cuts, which is committed to moving forward while accepting that some feelings, like grief, are a cycle. 

Oyster Cuts is a showcase for what’s still possible when four people, Sam Nicholson (guitars), Bella Quinlan (bass), Michael Panton (guitars), and Holly Thomas (drums), make music together. In utilizing tape loops – which open and close Oyster Cuts, circling the album like sharks- Quivers place emphasis on repetition, deploying patterned riffs and navigating circular thoughts until they swell to their breaking point. Their dreamy strain of sun-faded jangle pop is leaner and more muscular as a result, their keenly observed palette darkened with blushes of The Cure, Echo & the Bunnymen, and The Durutti Column. Within this framework, Quivers break new ground as a band, adding dimension to their hallmark group vocals by having Quinlan take lead on four songs, homing in on the interwoven guitars of Nicholson and Panton, and driving it all home on the purposeful groove of Quinlan and Thomas.

Propelled by melodies that at times recall Galaxie 500 and The Pretenders, Quivers make music that is tender and tough, compelling the listener to dive in again and again, each song a new angle on all of our feelings. 

Next Post
Previous Post
About alvesed99