cftpa3lowFrom Kraftwerk to Leonard Cohen, The Smiths to Suicide, and Pet Shop Boys to Smog, Chicago, Illinois, one-man musical army Owen Ashworth – a.k.a Casiotone for the Painfully Alone – has been bracketed with all manner of illustrious names in the course of his eleven year career!  He will be returning to the UK this April, with a full band, performing songs from his latest album, Vs. Children.

Hot on the heels of the recently released singles and rarities compilation, Advance Base Battery Life, comes Vs. Children, the fifth album proper by CFTPA. His most recent album continues the trajectory of 2006’s Etiquette, which showed singer/songwriter Ashworth straying from the strictly electronic instrumentation of his earlier recordings.  In fact, Vs. Children is an album decidedly absent of the battery-powered keyboards of Casiotone For The Painfully Alone’s namesake.  Instead, Vs. Children’s arrangements are built largely on the sounds of piano, organ, Mellotron, and acoustic percussion, both live and sampled.

Despite Vs. Children ‘s many guest musicians and a noticeable shift in instrumentation, CFTPA has succeeded to make a fifth album that feels just as warm and intimate as the first.  Owen Ashworth will be joined on stage by Tyson Thurston (from the band Magical, Beautiful); Gordon Ashworth (from Concern) will trade off on piano, baritone guitar, and lap steel guitar; Nick Tamburro (of The Dead Science) will play the drums, and Owen will be taking care of vocals and organ.  Owen will be performing both a solo electronic set and a full band set.

UK Dates:
Tuesday 14th April – Bristol, The Croft
Wednesday 15th April – Nottingham, The Bodega
Friday 17th April – Galway, Roisin Dubh
Saturday 18th April – Cork, The Quad
Sunday 19th April – Dublin, Whelans
Monday 20th April – Manchester, The Deaf Institute
Tuesday 21st April – Glasgow, Nice ‘n Sleazy
Wednesday 22nd April – Edinburgh, Sneaky Pete’s
Thursday 23rd April – Sheffield, TBA
Friday 24th April – York, Fibbers
Saturday 25th April – Brighton, Freebutt
Monday 27th April – London, Luminaire

Next Post
Previous Post