roberts1smallAlasdair Roberts, one of Scotland’s best  young singers and songwriters, will be playing some shows in May (and June) from his new album, Spoils, released 27th April on Drag City.

Spoils ingratiates new compositions in a deeply personal manner with the world of traditional music, that has sunk beyond the horizon for too many of us.  It is a gift to these latter days that a man like Roberts exists, to sing us back to our ancient home.

Forthcoming dates:
Thursday 21st May – Aberdeen, Tunnels
Friday 22nd May – Edinburgh, Cab Vol
Saturday 23rd May – Liverpool, Leaf Tea Room – Sound City Festival
Sunday 24th May – Manchester, Dulcimer
Monday 25th May – Hebden Bridge, Trades Club
Tuesday 26th May – Leeds, Library
Wednesday 27th May – Brighton, Freebutt
Thursday 28th May – London, Bush Hall
Friday 29th May – Bristol, Louisiana
Friday 5th June – Glasgow, Stereo
Friday 19th June – Crouch End London, The Local
Saturday 20th June – Leicester, Big Session


“With Spoils, Alasdair Roberts – Caledonia’s answer to Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy – has delivered his finest work to date.”  Uncut *****

“…sounds like a Pictish Nic Jones with the Incredible String Band – you can almost smell the damp heather.”  Mojo ****

“…the play between searing imagery and the weight of myth creates some of the weirdest word play this side of Scott Walker, DOOM or Damo Suzuki.”  The Wire

“Spoils burls in historical and ideological skirmish.”  Plan B

Next Post
Previous Post